life · poetry

Sharing

So many times I have heard people say they are scared of being alone.  They hate going out alone, eating alone… Being alone.

Who are you if you can’t be alone with yourself?

I love to be alone.  The quiet discomfort of my own thoughts, and the flexibility of being my own schedule.  Being alone is peaceful.  And most days I love who I am.

Who are you if you can’t be alone?

I have no idea how to share myself with someone else.  The idea of being myself with another person, being that vulnerable, is terrifying.  Intimacy is terrifying, someone will know me almost better then I know myself.  The thought of sharing myself, and another person walking away from that, is destructive.

Who are you if you can’t share?

Leave a Reply

